Tutoring – The Journey Continues

Tutoring sessions are going great. Attendance ranges from one up to seven students all eager to learn English conversation. We use scenarios from an intermediate level ESL book to guide/stimulate the conversations when needed. However, most of our conversations revolve around topics, phrases, or words that the students are curious about. This approach is not very organized, but it is definitely more lively. My goal is to keep them engaged and learning.

This entry was posted in Literacy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tutoring – The Journey Continues

  1. Fay says:

    I am working on lesson guidelines for next fall. I have been teaching on a beginners level. Now I want to concentrate more on conversation. My students have a basic understanding of English and can read and spell to some degree. They seem to want to improve their conversational skills.
    Fay

  2. mthoopl says:

    Sounds similar to my group. Currently they’re more interested refining their pronunciation and learning how to put phrases together.

    • Fay says:

      I am not teaching now. I will continue when the public school starts again in August. I will be going over some books I have at home to get ideas for topics, interests etc. that I think will help me get my students to talk more. I will also have them do more oral reading. We will see what my summer ideas come up with.
      Fay

      • mthoopl says:

        My students have expressed an interest in reading out loud as well. I imagine it will be a good way to increase their vocabulary. If you care to share, I’d love to hear about any ideas you come up with.

  3. Fay says:

    Sorry about not answering before now. I have my head in the sand a good part of the time. Now it is in the kitchen/ baking.
    I have made notebooks that don’t go home for each student. Some of the tabs are phrases, sentences, sight words, reading, crosswords. I took Molly’s suggestion and I have started giving my students spelling words on Mon. & test on Thursday.
    If you care to see these notebooks I am in class on Monday and Thursday afternoons.
    Fay

Leave a Reply

